top of page

Experience as a young South African woman working overseas


I’m going to throw my disclaimer in right here and right now, these are my thoughts and experiences. It has been influenced by the way I was brought up and by my worldly experiences.

A little about me, I was raised on a farm in Eston, Kwa-Zulu Natal. Growing up on the farm taught me about working hard, learning about another culture, being the Zulu culture. I grew up eating Maas, playing cars with kids of my age and not my colour or gender and not giving a care and learning Zulu. I grew up with strong hand of my Grandmother and was taught respect for elders, people in authority and common respect for all.

After high school, it was my dream to au pair in another country and it just so happened that it was the USA. It was the experience of a life time. Nobody could have taught me life experiences I shared over there. My host family would ask many a time what my culture was and I couldn’t give a definite answer… My culture is not just one; it is made up of all the nations of my country coming together as one.

As much as my heart and soul is African, USA life is much better. Yes Americans seem arrogant and ignorant, yes I did get asked if I have lions in my back yard, and they think that we live in the dark ages. I could walk to a café at 9:00pm and not have to fear being dragged into the nearest bush or my pulled from my car while at a robot. I could do my driver’s licence in 2 weeks opposed to the 6 month wait. I’m not naïve to it only happens here but happens everywhere, but you don’t live in the fear on a daily basis.

Working there also taught me a lot. I was employed in a homely environment, having said I never felt as though it was working. It was like I was part of the family. I was taught while growing up that you helped out where you could. Yes I did most of the chores; I was never oppressed as a female in that my place was in the kitchen slaving away. I happily did it without complaint. My host parents valued me as a result of this. As a female over there I was respected, addressed and greeted as Ma’am, doors held opened and protected when going out. It was the Texan culture which is similar to mine.

I would never trade the experience of living in another country for anything. I fell in love, I lost my some of my fears, I gained life lessons that I still use to the day. I have had many tears and many laughs. I made so many friends from many different cultures, that now I have many more overseas travels to make.


  • Twitter Basic Square
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
bottom of page